Intensive week – swimming Levels

Intensive week – swimming Levels

At Airfield Swim Academy we follow the Learn to Swim program for 5-15 year olds. Designed to empower and inspire children to challenge themselves on their own personal journey of learning to swim.

Level 1

  • Non Swimmers aged 5 years and over.
  • Core Aquatic Skills are introduced, reinforced and consolidated, whilst developing water confidence.

Level 2

  • Can float in the water with no help from the teacher or swimming aids.
  • Push and glide on front and back for 5 metres.
  • Must be comfortable with head fully submerged under the water for at least 5 seconds.

Level 3

  • Children who can swim 5 + metres.
  • Introduce dolphin, breaststroke and flutter kick .
  • Tread water, using arms and legs for 30 seconds.

Level 4

  • Children who can swim 10 + metres.
  • Develop dolphin, breaststroke and flutter kick.
  • Propel 10m, tread water for 60 seconds.
  • Demonstrate a kneeling dive.

Level 5

  • Children who can swim 15 + metres.
  • Demonstrate five consecutive butterfly arm actions in a horizontal position.
  • Demonstrate a standing dive.

Level 6

  • Children who can swim 25 + metres.
  • Lessons focus on the correct technique for all strokes.
  • Demonstrate a grab start.

Level 7

  • Demonstrate butterfly over 25m.
  • Demonstrate 100m of continuous swimming utilising full stroke technique.
  • Demonstrate a front crawl and backstroke tumble-turn.

Level 8

  • For children who have successfully completed the Learn to Swim programme.
  • Teaches a range of aquatics disciplines that the swimmer can use to improve technical knowledge and skills that will enable them to cover competitive swimming, diving, water polo, synchronised swimming and open water skills.

For full details of all our swimming levels please visit our learn to swim programme pages.